North-South Expressway (NSE)
North-South Expressway (NSE)
The Malaysian family returns home for Hari Raya on April 30 and May 1 (and May 7, May 8) can enjoy toll-free travel or discounts of up to 50% on local highways for all vehicles, read the news.

The North-South Expressway (NSE), or PLUS Expressway, is the longest controlled-access expressway in Malaysia with the total length of about 772 km running from Bukit Kayu Hitam in Kedah near the Malaysian-Thai border to Johor Bahru at the southern portion of Peninsular Malaysia and to Singapore.

Using the PLUS highway? Check toll charges.

The expressway links many major cities and towns in western Peninsular Malaysia, acting as the ‘backbone’ of the west coast of the peninsula.

It is also known as PLUS Expressway, named after the highway’s concessionaire, Projek Lebuhraya Utara Selatan Berhad.

The PLUS Expressway passes through 7 states on the peninsula: Johor, Melaka (Malacca), Negeri Sembilan, Selangor, Perak, Penang and Kedah.

North-South Expressway (PLUS) ★ View larger versionCheck toll fare

The PLUS Expressway provides a faster alternative to the old Federal Route 1, thus reducing travelling time between various towns and cities.

It is part of the Asian Highway Network of route AH2.

The North-South Expressway is divided into 2 main routes:

Both routes run in parallel with the Federal Route 1 from Johor Bahru to Bukit Kayu Hitam (except the Simpang Ampat – Yong Peng section to provide an access to Malacca City), where both terminus of the FT1 (Johor Bahru and Bukit Kayu Hitam) serve as the Kilometre Zero of the E2 and E1 respectively, while Kuala Lumpur serves as the Final Kilometre for both routes.

RouteKilometre ZeroFinal KilometreDistance
E1Bukit Kayu HitamKuala Lumpur460km
E2Johore BahruKuala Lumpur312km

While the E2 ends exactly at the Selangor-Kuala Lumpur border at KM310, the E1 ends at Exit 108 Bukit Lanjan Interchange at KM460 before proceeding to the city via the New Klang Valley Expressway (NKVE), which is also gazetted as Expressway E1.

The E1 and E2 expressways are linked together via the North-South Expressway Central Link (ELITE).

Constructed in phases over a period of seven years, the North-South Expressway was officially opened on September 8 1994, signaling the coming of age of Malaysia’s road transportation system.

Northern Route, North-South Expressway

The 460km North-South Expressway Northern Route, or the Alor Setar-Penang Bridge-Kuala Lumpur Route, designated as expressway E1.

It is part of highway 2 of the Asian Highway Network, is a mostly tolled, interstate controlled-access highway in Peninsular Malaysia.

The E1 expressway forms the north section of the larger North-South Expressway, passing through the northwestern states of Kedah, Penang, Perak and Selangor.

Exit Bukit Tambun, Batu Kawan, Spg Ampat PLUS Highway Northbound
Near Ipoh, Perak, Northern Route, North-South Expressway
PLUS Highway, near Menora Tunnel, Ipoh
PLUS Highway

The expressway begins at the Bukit Kayu Hitam checkpoint in Kedah where the Malaysia-Thailand border lies, and ends at Bukit Lanjan in Selangor where the expressway interchanges with the New Klang Valley Expressway (NKVE).

Southern Route, North-South Expressway

The 312km North-South Expressway Southern Route, or the Kuala Lumpur-Seremban-Malacca Johor Bahru Route, designated as E2.

It is the southern part of the North-South Expressway, is one of the longest expressways in Malaysia.

The E2 expressway forms the south section of the larger North-South Expressway, oriented in a north-south direction, traversing four states in Peninsular Malaysia; namely Selangor, Negeri Sembilan, Malacca and Johor.

Near Ayer Keroh, Malacca, Southern Route, North-South Expressway
PLUS Highway Southbound Exit 115
PLUS highway, 304km to Kuala Lumpur
PLUS Highway Southbound Exit 220

The North-South Expressway Southern Route begins in the southern part of Kuala Lumpur, at Sungai Besi.

Its southern terminus (Kilometre Zero) is at Pandan, Johor Bahru.

Near Sungai Besi Toll

Facilities and services

  • Rest and service areas located about 60 km from each other
  • Lay-Bys parking areas are located approximately every two junctions
  • Vista Points for travellers to rest and relax while enjoying breathtaking views of the Highway
  • Petrol stations
  • Self-service kiosks
  • Emergency phones every 2km
  • PLUSLINE hotline number
  • PLUS Ronda (PLUS patrol) service to assist drivers in the event of vehicle problems on the expressway
  • PLUS helicopter patrol unit to monitor PLUS expressways

PLUS Toll Systems

The North-South Expressway is a toll expressway with two toll systems:

  1. Open system
  2. Closed system

1 Open system – Users only have to pay at certain toll plazas within the open system range for a fixed amount.

“Open system” is used in the following stretches of the North-South Expressway:

  • Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau (Selangor)
  • Bukit Kayu Hitam (Kedah)
  • Jitra, (Kedah)
  • Penang Bridge
  • Kubang Semang (Penang) and Lunas (Kedah)
  • Kempas (Johor)
  • Johor-Singapore Causeway
  • Lukut and Mambau (Negeri Sembilan)
  • Tanjung Kupang, Taman Perling and Lima Kedai (Johor)

Open system toll rates

LocationClass 1
Class 2
Class 3
Class 4
Class 5
Bukit Kayu Hitam3.605.307.201.702.60
Sg. Rasau1.001.302.000.400.80
Batu Tiga1.101.502.200.400.90
Johor Bahru Causeway2.904.506.101.402.30
Bangunan Sultan Iskandar2.904.506.101.402.30
LocationClass 1
Class 2
Class 3
Class 0
Class 4
Class 5
Tanjung Kupang7.5017.1034.301.105.709.10
Lima Kedai3.907.809.802.003.90
Seremban-Port Dickson Highway
LocationClass 1
Class 2
Class 3
Class 4
Class 5
Butterworth-Kulim Expressway
LocationClass 1
Class 2
Class 3
Class 4
Class 5
Kubang Semang1.603.204.800.801.60

2 Closed system – Users collect toll tickets or PLUSTransit cards before entering the expressway at respective toll plazas and pay an amount of toll at the exit toll plaza plus the distance from the plaza to the Limit of Maintenance Responsibility (LMR).

Closed system toll rates

Check Toll Fare for North-South Expressway
Use this tool to check the toll fare you have to pay when driving on North-South Expressway (PLUS Expressway)

KLIA Toll Plaza

KLIA Toll Plaza is a tollbooth in Selangor. KLIA Toll Plaza is situated nearby to Commonwealth Games 1998 Statue, and southwest of Bukit Tampoi.

Location of KLIA Toll Plaza

You will pay the toll at this toll plaza if you use the PLUS highway to go to the airports.

KLIA Toll Plaza
KLIA Toll Plaza
KLIA Toll Plaza
KLIA Toll Plaza
KLIA Toll Plaza

Technical Specifications

North-South Expressway
North-South Expressway
Length772km (480 mi) – Northern Route (460km), Southern Route (312km)
Existed1981 – present
HistoryCompleted in 1994
North EndBukit Kayu Hitam, Kedah
   Butterworth-Kulim Expressway
 Penang Bridge
 Sultan Abdul Halim Muadzam Shah Bridge
 Guthrie Corridor Expressway (GCE)
   New Klang Valley Expressway (NKVE)
  North-South Expressway Central Link (ELITE)
 Kajang Dispersal Link Expressway (SILK)
 Seremban-Port Dickson Highway
  Second Link Expressway
  Johor Bahru Eastern Dispersal Link Expressway
South endJohor Bahru, Johor

Overview of North-South Expressway

North-South Expressway (PLUS), View larger version, Check PLUS toll fare

Contact PLUS Management

PLUS Malaysia Berhad
AddressMenara Korporat, Persada PLUS, Persimpangan Bertingkat Subang, KM15, Lebuhraya Baru Lembah Klang, 47301 Petaling Jaya, Selangor
Contact+603 7801 6666, +603 7666 4666
Hotline1800 88 0000
Site Search

Did you find what you are looking for? Try out the enhanced Google Search:

(Visited 26,533 times, 93 visits today)

Categorized in:

Tagged in: